The purpose of the Association is to promote the construction and maintenance of good roads in the Counties of Alabama, to promote the spirit of cooperation between the County Road Departments and the Alabama Department of Transportation, and by the exchange of ideas, to give all Counties in the State the advantages of the Engineering profession.


Brief History

The Association of County Engineers of Alabama is an affiliate of the Association of County Commissions of Alabama. The ACEA was established on September 4, 1952 in order to promote sound road and bridge infrastructure along county roads across Alabama through an exchange of ideas among engineering professionals and by maintaining cooperation between the Alabama counties and the Alabama Department of Transportation. The ACEA is comprised of the County Engineers and Assistant Engineers from all of Alabama’s sixty seven (67) counties.


2023 – 2024 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

President: Eric Hill, Lauderdale County

Vice President: Luke McGinty, Elmore County

Secretary/Treasurer: Robert Nail, Etowah County

Immediate Past President: Justin Hardee, Lee County

Area Directors

Tuscumbia Area: Jason Baggett, Franklin County
Guntersville Area: Michael Knop, Marshall County
Fayette Area: Clint Terry, Pickens County
Tuscaloosa Area: Heath Sexton, Chilton County
Birmingham Area: Dustin Stewart, Blount County
Alex City Area: Jeremy Butler, Clay County
Grove Hill Area: David Butts Jr., Wilcox County
Mobile Area: Ricky Mitchell, Mobile County
Montgomery Area: Shawn Blakeney, Russell County
Troy Area: Benjie Sanders, Crenshaw County
Representative of Nonvoting Members: Calvin Culliver, Greene County


Past Presidents

2022 – 2023: Justin Hardee, Lee County
2021 – 2022: John Mark Davis, Autauga County
2020 – 2021: Greg Bodley, Morgan County
2019 – 2020: Justin Barfield, Geneva County
2018 – 2019: DeAndre Kimbrough, Perry County
2017 – 2018: Josh Harvill, Chambers County
2013 – 2014: Dan Dahlke, St. Clair County
2012 – 2013: Chris Champion, Henry County
2010 – 2011: Bill Bridges, Dallas County
2007 – 2008: Richie Beyer, Elmore County
2005 – 2006: Benjie Sanders, Crenshaw County
2004 – 2005: Dennis McCall, Butler County
2001 – 2002: Anthony Crear, Sumter County