ACEA Board of Directors Meeting

August 20, 2013 Attendees – County

Chris Champion – Henry Dan Dahlke - St. Clair John Bedford - Colbert **Richard Sanders – Limestone** Josh Harvill – Chambers Sky Hallmon – Pickens J.D. Smith – Macon Daniel Overton – Clarke Randy Cole - Shelby Bill Bridges – Escambia Richie Beyer – Elmore Patrick McDougald – Barbour Greg Bodley – Morgan Anthony Crear – Sumter David Bufkin – Autauga Dennis McCall – Butler County Shawn Blakeney – Russell County Robert Nail – Etowah County Derek Brewer – Dale County Randy Tindell – Coffee County Justin Barfield – Geneva County Benji Sanders – Crenshaw County Richard Spraggins – Mobile County Philip Widner – Jackson County Ben Luther – DeKalb County Sonny Brasfield – ACCA Sallie Gowan – ACCA Mary Pons – ACCA Mark Servi - NACE

Minutes:

President Chris Champion called the meeting to order and a sign up sheet was passed around with the noted attendees to establish a quorum.

A motion was made by Richie Beyer and seconded by Sky Hallmon to accept the minutes of the May 8, 2013 Board meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

John Bedford presented a financial report. General discussion followed regarding the existing balance. A motion was made Randy Cole and second by Dennis McCall to accept the financial report. The motion passed unanimously.

Richie Beyer introduced Mark Servi, NACE President. Mark stresses the importance of ACEA staying active in NACE and what a positive impact our members have had. Mark talked of active involvement that NACE has had recently in decisions made by NACO. Mark acknowledged Josh Harvill and Dennis McCall active involvement in NACE membership recruitment.

Chris Champion addressed the need to review existing bylaws. Discussion was presented about reducing Board members and placing more emphasis on district leadership. The issue was tabled for further discussion.

Sonny Brasfield presented an update on the ATRIP program. He emphasized the project prioritization letter deadline for counties that got less than they had requested.

Sonny Brasfield gave a report about liability issues that road departments face everyday. He stressed the importance of having an organized effort directed toward reduction of related cost.

Sonny Brasfield discussed the need to become more involved in steering committees. Discussion was presented about reducing the size of committees to become more issue specific. That in turn would create more committees thereby require more participation either through voluntary action or by appointment.

Chris Champion presented a brief summary of the committee meeting held with ALDOT regarding debris removal. Chris noted that a committee consisting of Richard Spraggins, Richie Beyer and Dan Dahlke had been assigned to work with Ed Phillips in updating the first three chapters of the "County Procedural Guidelines Manual". Chris also noted that Richie Beyer was appointed as ACEA representation to a research committee developed at Auburn University. The committee will develop more training opportunity to practices specifically geared toward county issues.

Randy Cole reported that the Nominating Committee's recommendation for year 2013-14 officers were Dan Dahlke as President, John Bedford as Vice President and Derek Brewer as Secretary/Treasurer. The motion was seconded by Richie Beyer and passed unanimously.

A motion to adjourn was made by Randy Cole and second by Bill Bridges.