ACEA Membership Meeting

August 16, 2011

Minutes

Meeting was called to order by President Bill Bridges

Roll was called and a quorum established.

A brief financial report was presented by Chris Champion. Report showed ACEA Assets totaling \$96,069.90 on June 30, 2011.

Richie Beyer gave a NACE update which included updates on the FHWA Everyday Counts (EDC) initiative. Topics discussed included streamlining projects, possible Geosynthetic Reinforced Soils projects in 4 Alabama counties, and an ALDOT Safety Edge pilot project.

Sonny Brasfield reported that Road Supervisor training should emphasize safety and a schedule for said training is forthcoming.

Sonny also reported that the 2010 fall meeting lost money and as a result, registration fees would be increased for the 2011 fall meeting. The fall meeting will continue to include an invitation to ALDOT for the meeting dinner. The 2011 meeting will held at The Legends in Prattville.

Sonny reported that the Golf Bash had been approved by the ethics commission and encouraged members to participate and solicit sponsorships from vendors.

Sonny reported that Tax at the Rack legislation passed in the 2011 legislative session and goes into effect October 1, 2012. Gas taxes will now be collected at the refinery and ALDOT will be responsible for enforcement.

Mary Pons reported that the CGEI classes had been a huge success. She stated that graduates can earn continuing education credits by attending the Fall County Engineer's meeting and the Legislative Conference in December.

Mary also reported the Joint Bid Project is progressing for 2012. Specs are being finalized and the herbicide and sign portion of the project is being expanded. She thanked ACCA staffer Brandy Perry for her assistance with the Joint Bid Project.

Tim Graves of the ACEA Nominating Committee put in nomination the following slate of ACEA Officers for the 2011-2012 year.

President Randy Cole
Vice President Chris Champion
Secretary/Treasurer Dan Dahlke

On a motion by Richie Beyer, seconded by Benji Sanders, these nominations were approved with a unanimous vote.

The following ACEA members were elected to represent their divisions on the ACEA Board of Directors for the 2011-2012 year.

- 1 Bob Pirando
- 2 John Bedford
- 3 Richard Spraggins
- 4 Henry Hawkins
- 5 Arzo Abrams
- 6 JD Smith
- 7 Justin Barfield
- 8 Danny Overton
- 9 Winston Foshee
- EIT Robert Nail

With no other business before the Association, President Randy Cole adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted, Chris Champion, ACEA Secretary/Treasurer